Ghana 2020 Presidential Election Results

Created on December 12, 2020.
By Mershack Okoe.

The 2020 presidential election of Ghana was held on December 7, 2020. We provide two key visualizations of the results and tables of the national and regional summaries of the results using data from the Electoral Commission of Ghana (EC). You may also be interested in our analysis of the election results based on discrepancies we found in the constituency summary data compared to the regional summaries provided by the EC.

Nana Addo Akufo-Addo, candidate of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) won with 51.30% of the votes beating the former president John Dramani Mahama, candidate of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) who received 47.36% of the votes. The remaining 10 candidates together got 1.34% of the votes. Specifically, the remaining 10 candidates received the following percentages of the votes:
  1. Christian Kwabena Andrews, Ghana Union Movement (GUM) — 0.81%
  2. Ivor Kobina Greenstreet, Convention People’s Party (CPP) — 0.09%
  3. David Asibi Ayindenaba Apasera, People’s National Convention (PNC) — 0.08%
  4. Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker, Independent (IND) — 0.07%
  5. Percival Kofi Akpaloo, Liberal Party of Ghana (LPG) — 0.06%
  6. Hassan Ayariga, All People’s Congress (APC) — 0.05%
  7. Brigette Akosua Dzogbenuku, Progressive People’s Party (PPP) — 0.05%
  8. Nana Konadu Agyeman-Rawlings, National Democratic Party (NDP) — 0.05%
  9. Akua Donkor, Ghana Freedom Party (GFP) — 0.04%
  10. Henry Herbert Lartey, Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP) — 0.03%
Summary of Election Results at National Level
Total Valid Votes:

The following chart shows the regional level summary of the election results. Click or hover over the regional charts to see the number of votes.

Summary of Election Results Per Region
North East
Greater Accra
Western North
Bono East
Upper East
Upper West
Table of Summarized National Results
Candidate Votes Percent
Nana Addo Akufo-Addo (NPP) 6,730,587 51.3
John Dramani Mahama (NDC) 6,213,182 47.36
Christian Kwabena Andrews (GUM) 105,548 0.81
Ivor Kobina Greenstreet (CPP) 12,200 0.09
Akua Donkor (GFP) 5,574 0.04
Henry Herbert Lartey (GCPP) 3,564 0.03
Hassan Ayariga (APC) 7,138 0.05
Percival Kofi Akpaloo (LPG) 7,683 0.06
David Asibi Ayindenaba Apasera (PNC) 10,882 0.08
Brigette Akosua Dzogbenuku (PPP) 6,849 0.05
Nana Konadu Agyeman-Rawlings (NDP) 6,549 0.05
Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker (IND) 9,704 0.07

The table below shows the regional results for all the presidential candidates. Select each region to view the results

Table of Summarized Election Results Per Region

Election Results for Ahafo Region

Candidate Votes Percent
Nana Addo Akufo-Addo (NPP) 145,584 55.04
John Dramani Mahama (NDC) 116,485 44.04
Christian Kwabena Andrews (GUM) 1,493 0.56
Ivor Kobina Greenstreet (CPP) 194 0.07
Akua Donkor (GFP) 49 0.02
Henry Herbert Lartey (GCPP) 51 0.02
Hassan Ayariga (APC) 150 0.06
Percival Kofi Akpaloo (LPG) 113 0.04
David Asibi Ayindenaba Apasera (PNC) 82 0.03
Brigette Akosua Dzogbenuku (PPP) 52 0.02
Nana Konadu Agyeman-Rawlings (NDP) 135 0.05
Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker (IND) 103 0.04